• Catalogue of vine varieties registered in France
  • These specification sheets provide a set of characteristics and information used to define and summarize the vine variety along with its major characteristics.

    The variety is presented uses the name listed in the official French Catalogue, which is generally the most widespread used name in French wine-growing.

    Varieties are presented in alphabetical order.

  • Catalogue of rootstocks registered in France
  • These information sheets provide an overview of characteristics and information used to define the vine variety and its principle characteristics. The 30 recommended rootstock varieties listed in the national catalogue are presented in alphabetical order of breeders or selectors with their usual name.

    Varieties of rootstocks are presented in alphanumerical order.

  • List of clones approved in France
  • Information listed in these sections is voluntarily expressed in terms of potential. In addition, each clone is presented with regard to the population of other clones and with regard to the general characteristics of this variety or vine variety.

    No figures are given. Precise information of yield, alcohol degree or regarding polyphenol indexes are in fact, are only significant for a given geographic area using specified cultivation practices.

    For each variety, the list of clones is presented in chronological accreditation order.

    Legal terms of the catalogue and registration procedure

    The objective of the present note is to provide the regulatory, community and national overview of the Catalogue dedicated to vines. The "Official Catalogue of Vine Varieties" of which the material for vegetative propagation can be marketed is registered in the Code Rural (article R661-28) and is within the jurisdiction of the minister in charge of agriculture. The Code Rural specifies that the Catalogue includes a list of approved clones taken from selection work carried out by the IFV and INRA in connection with technical partners from different vineyards. The policy of the Catalogue and its objectives are registered in the Directive 68/193/EEC of the council amended. This text establishes that the Catalogue is the basis for monitoring and certifying material for the propagation of vines. It likewise stipulates that the principle morphological and physiological characteristics of varieties must be included and that only distinct, homogeneous and stable varieties can be admitted. The current varietal content of the French catalogue is defined by the ministerial decree of 18 April 2008, which distinguishes wine and table grapes to be used for canning, for accreditation and table grapes. The amending texts (at least 1 annually) are made to complete the catalogue upon the favorable instruction of new registration requests. The decree likewise classifies varieties, a notion referred to the Common Market Organization (CMO) for the vitivinicultural sector. Objectives include supporting production potential together with the qualitative improvement of products. The Council regulation, which defines the current CMO (number 479/2008), provides that only wine grape varieties are concerned with this classification. This classification is mandatory in each member state within its jurisdiction. Wine can only be produced from varieties admitted to the territory classification.

    Applications for entering old or new varieties in the Catalogue are reviewed by the Vigne du Comité Technique Permanent de Sélection (Vine Standing Technical Selection Committee) (CTPS). This consultative body is attached to the Ministry in charge of agriculture, gives an opinion on each dossier submitted. The CTPS vine section examines the dossiers in light of rules and criteria as defined in the specific technical regulations for vines, approved by a ministerial decree. Entry in the Catalogue require that a candidate variety must pass the "DHS" test. (distinct, homogeneous and stable), "VAT"» (agronomic and technological value), and the proposed denomination must be validated following a particular procedure, common to other species (old varieties are exempt). It is to be noted that inclusion in the Catalogue of a new variety does not ensure the protection of intellectual property attached to this granting. This step involves distinct procedures and competent authorities.

• Catalogue des cépages inscrits en France
  • Ces fiches présentent un ensemble de caractéristiques et d’informations destinées à définir de façon synthétique, la variété et d’en connaître les caractéristiques majeures.

    La variété est présentée sous le nom figurant au Catalogue officiel français qui est aussi généralement le plus utilisé dans la pratique viticole française.

    Les variétés sont présentées par ordre alphabétique.

  • Catalogue des porte-greffes inscrits en France
  • Ces fiches présentent un ensemble de caractéristiques et d’informations destinées à définir la variété et d’en connaître les caractéristiques majeures.

    Les 30 variétés de porte-greffes recommandées inscrites au Catalogue national sont présentées dans l’ordre alphabétique des obtenteurs ou des sélectionneurs et selon leur dénomination usuelle :

    Les variétés de porte-greffes sont présentées dans l’ordre alphanumérique.

  • Liste des clones agréés en France
  • Les informations figurant dans ces rubriques sont volontairement exprimées en terme de potentiel. De plus, chaque clone est présenté par rapport à la population des autres clones et aux caractéristiques générales de la variété ou du cépage.

    Aucune indication chiffrée n’est mentionnée. En effet, des informations précises de rendement, de degré alcoolique ou relatives à des indices de polyphénols, par exemple, n’ont de signification que pour une situation géographique donnée et avec des pratiques culturales bien spécifiées.

    Pour chaque variété, la liste des clones est présentée par ordre chronologique d’agrément.

    Bases règlementaires du catalogue et modalités d’inscription

    La présente note a pour objet de décrire dans les grandes lignes l’encadrement règlementaire communautaire et national du Catalogue dédié à la vigne. Le « Catalogue officiel des variétés de vigne dont les matériels de multiplication peuvent être commercialisés » est inscrit dans le Code Rural (article R661-28) et relève de la compétence du ministre chargé de l’agriculture. Le Code Rural précise que le Catalogue est assorti d’une liste particulière des clones agréés, ces derniers provenant de travaux de sélections réalisés par l’IFV et l’INRA en lien avec leurs partenaires techniques des différents vignobles. La définition du Catalogue et ses objectifs sont inscrits dans la Directive 68/193/CEE du Conseil modifiée. Ce texte établit que le Catalogue est la base du contrôle et de la certification des matériels de multiplication de la vigne. Il stipule également que doivent y figurer les principales caractéristiques morphologiques et physiologiques des variétés qui le composent et que seules les variétés distinctes, homogènes et stables (DHS) peuvent y être admises. Le contenu variétal actuel du Catalogue français est défini par l’arrêté ministériel du 18 avril 2008, qui distingue les variétés de raisins de cuve, de table, destinées à la conserverie, d’agrément et de table. Des arrêtés modificatifs (au minimum 1 par an) sont pris pour le compléter, à l’issue d’une instruction favorable des nouvelles demandes d’inscription. L’arrêté précité fait état également du classement des variétés, notion qui renvoie à l’organisation commune du marché (OCM) pour le secteur vitivinicole, et à des objectifs d’encadrement du potentiel de production conjugués à une amélioration qualitative des produits. Dans le règlement du Conseil qui définit l’OCM actuelle (N° 479/2008), seules les variétés de cuve sont concernées par le classement, ce dernier étant obligatoire dans chaque état membre et relevant de sa compétence. La production de vin ne peut y provenir que de variétés admises au classement sur son territoire.

    Les demandes d’inscription de variétés anciennes ou nouvelles au Catalogue sont examinées par la section Vigne du Comité Technique Permanent de Sélection (CTPS). Cette instance consultative rattachée au Ministère chargé de l’agriculture, formule un avis sur chaque dossier déposé. La section Vigne du CTPS instruit les dossiers à la lumière des règles et critères définis dans un Règlement technique spécifique à la vigne, homologué par arrêté ministériel. Pour être inscrite au Catalogue, une variété candidate doit passer avec succès les épreuves de « DHS » (distincte, homogène et stable), « VAT » (valeur agronomique et technologique), et la dénomination proposée doit avoir été validée suivant une procédure particulière, commune à d’autres espèces (les variétés anciennes en sont exemptées). On peut noter que l’inscription au Catalogue d’une variété d’obtention nouvelle n’assure aucune protection de la propriété intellectuelle attachée à cette obtention. Cette démarche relève de procédures et autorités compétentes distinctes.