Objectives and partners

The Pl@ntGrape project is one of the many case studies of the Pl@ntNet platform initiated in October 2009 by the Agropolis Foundation (consortium agreement between the CIRAD, INRA, INRIA and IRD) to support agronomy research and sustainable development. This project is carried out by the Unité Mixte Technologique Géno-Vigne®, in partnership with UMR AMAP of Montpellier. As such, it associates the expertise of the IFV, INRA, Montpellier SupAgro, IRD, INRIA, CNRS and the CIRAD on the subject of genetic resources of vines and new information technologies.

The first objective of Pl@ntGrape is to draw up validated and updated summary information, available on the varieties and the vine clones grown in France, throughout Europe and the world. This is aimed for anyone wanting information on vine varieties: vine-growers, nursery growers, technicians, researchers, students, wine connoisseurs, etc.

The starting point of the internet site is the second edition of the "Catalogue des Variétés et clones de vigne cultivés en France" (Catalogue of Vine Varieties and Clones grown in France) published in 2007 (IFV publishers). Additional information and new varietal and clone sheets have been added, following registration updates and authorizations given by the Ministry of Agriculture.

Pl@ntGrape likewise proposes a vine variety morphology recognition intuitive tool. This varietal identification assistance is entirely visual and requires no a priori “ampelographic” knowledge. The users, by simply selecting identification characteristics drawing, draw up a composite drawing of the sought vine variety.The corresponding number and list of varieties are updated with each new characteristic used, thus facilitating the identification procedure. The work carried out is based on identifying all the vine varieties referenced in the official catalogue using a spefically designed software tool; IDAO


Institut National de Recherche Agronomique (National Institute for Agronomy Research)

The INRA center of Montpellier carries out research on vines and wine in three fields of activity: agriculture, food and the environment. The wide spectrum of themes spans from the genes to the viticulture region. Research on the genetic resources of vine themes involves two units: the "Diversity and Adaptation of Vines and Mediterranean Species" team from UMR AGAP and the Experimental Unit of Domaine de Vassal which houses the main ampelographic collection of the Institute at Marseillan-Plage.

Institut Français du Vin

French Vine and Wine Institute

The IFV, through the intermediary of the National Plant Material Pole located in the Grau du Roi (30) in Southern France is a vine selection establishment. It coordinates clonal selection and conservation actions carried out throughout the country based on the close collaboration between vine selection partners in France. The National Plant Material Pole likewise ensures the conservation of 326 vine varieties at the Domaine de l'Espiguette which are inscribed in the official catalogue along with 1163 approved clones.

Montpellier SupAgro

Montpellier SupAgro

Montpellier SupAgro, Centre international d'études supérieures en sciences agronomiques (International Centerfor Higher Studies in Agronomy), is a higher education institution and of research placed under the authority of the Ministry of Agriculture and Fishing. The Institut des Hautes Etudes de la Vigne et du Vin (IHEV) (Institute of Higher Studies in Vine and Wine) includes all the training programs proposed in the vine and wine field and particularly the agronomy specialization of Viticulture-Oenology. The IHEV is the permanent link between training, research and professionals of the vitiviniculture sector.

UMT Geno Vigne

UMT Geno Vigne

L’unité mixte technologique Géno-Vigne®, (Géno-Vigne®, mixed technological unit) labelled as such in August 2008, associates the IFV, INRA and Montpellier SupAgro. The objective of Géno-Vigne® is to optimize the management, the conservation, the characterization and the recognition of vine genetic resources for the vitiviniculture sector. INRA at Domaine de Vassal and the IFV at the Domaine in Espiguette collections constitute a unique worldwide base for different research and development projects including training and communication works.

Partenaires de la sélection

Selection partners

These are regional selection actors made up of chambers of agriculture, interprofessions, associations or from Sicarex, totalling 33, divided thoughout all the vineyard areas. They are directly implicated in clonal selection and the conservation of inter or intra varietal diversity. They play a vital role in the maintaining and the recognition of our viticulture heritage. Thanks to their collaboration, the rarest varieties are safeguarded.

Projet Plantnet

Projet Pl@ntNet

Pl@ntNet is an initiative promoted by three complementary skilled teams: UMR Amap, INRIA Rocquencourt team project, the Tela Botanica Association along with a large range of partnerships including international organizations. The project’s objective are (i) to develop research on the borderlines between integrative systematics and computer science (ii) to promote the use of under exploited sources of data on plants (iii) to promote citizen science as an important means to enrich information on geographic distribution, ecology and the use of plants.

Agropolis Fondation

Agropolis Foundation

The Agropolis foundation was founded in 2007 with the objective of supporting and promoting the development of projects on an international scope (reserach and training programs) in agronomy and sustainable development while focusing on issues facing the North as well as the South. This foundation supports research projects, positions and stays for doctoral scientists, pre and post docs or for experienced researchers.(junior or senior).

Objectifs et partenaires

Le projet Pl@ntGrape constitue l’un des multiples cas d’étude de la plate-forme Pl@ntNet initiée en octobre 2009 par Agropolis Fondation (accord de consortium entre CIRAD, INRA, INRIA et IRD) pour soutenir la recherche agronomique et le développement durable. Ce projet est conduit par l’Unité Mixte Technologique Géno-Vigne®, en partenariat avec l’UMR AMAP de Montpellier. Il associe ainsi l’expertise déployée par l’IFV, l’INRA, Montpellier SupAgro, l'IRD, l'INRIA, le CNRS et le CIRAD autour des ressources génétiques de la vigne et des nouvelles technologies de l’information.

L’objectif premier de Pl@ntGrape est de rendre accessible une information synthétique, validée et actualisée sur les variétés et les clones de vignes cultivés en France et plus largement en Europe et dans le monde. Il s’adresse à toute personne souhaitant disposer de renseignements sur les cépages : viticulteurs, pépiniéristes viticoles, techniciens, chercheurs, étudiants, amateurs de vins, etc.

Le contenu du site internet prend pour point de départ la seconde édition du « Catalogue des Variétés et clones de vigne cultivés en France », paru en 2007 (ed. IFV). Des compléments d’informations et de nouvelles fiches variétales et clonales y ont été rajoutées, suivant ainsi l’actualité des inscriptions et agréments prononcés par le Ministère de l’Agriculture.

Pl@ntGrape propose également un outil intuitif de reconnaissance morphologique des cépages. Cette aide à l’identification variétale, entièrement visuelle, ne nécessite aucune connaissance « ampélographique » a priori. Les utilisateurs, par simple sélection de dessins des caractères d’identification, reconstituent le portrait-robot de la variété recherchée. Le nombre et la liste des variétés correspondantes sont mis à jour à chaque nouveau caractère utilisé, facilitant ainsi le processus d’identification. Le travail réalisé porte sur l’identification de toutes les variétés référencées dans le catalogue officiel, et utilise pour cela l’outil logiciel IDAO

Inra

Institut National de Recherche Agronomique

Le Centre INRA de Montpellier conduit des recherches sur la vigne et le vin autour de trois champs d’activité : l’agriculture, l’alimentation et l’environnement. Le spectre thématique est large et va du gène à la région viticole. Les recherches sur le thème des ressources génétiques de la vigne impliquent deux unités : l’équipe « Diversité et Adaptation de la Vigne et des Espèces Méditerranéennes » de l’UMR AGAP et l’Unité Expérimentale du Domaine de Vassal qui héberge à Marseillan-Plage la collection ampélographique centrale de l’Institut.

Institut Français du Vin

Institut Français de la Vigne et du Vin

L’IFV, par l'intermédiaire du Pôle national matériel végétal situé au Grau du Roi (30) est un établissement de sélection de la vigne. Il coordonne des actions de sélection clonale et de conservation conduites sur l’ensemble du territoire grâce à une collaboration étroite avec les partenaires de la sélection vigne en France. Le Pôle national matériel végétal assure également sur le domaine de l'Espiguette, la conservation des 326 cépages inscrits au Catalogue officiel ainsi que les 1163 clones agréés.

Montpellier SupAgro

Montpellier SupAgro

Montpellier SupAgro, Centre international d'études supérieures en sciences agronomiques, est un établissement d'enseignement supérieur et de recherche, sous tutelle du Ministère de l'agriculture et de la pêche. En son sein, l’Institut des Hautes Etudes de la Vigne et du Vin (IHEV) regroupe l’ensemble des formations proposées dans les domaines de la Vigne et du Vin et notamment la spécialisation d’ingénieur agronome en Viticulture-Œnologie. L’IHEV joue ainsi un rôle de lien permanent entre la formation, la recherche et les professionnels du secteur viti-vinicole.

UMT Geno Vigne

UMT Geno Vigne

L’unité mixte technologique Géno-Vigne®, labellisée en août 2008, associe l’IFV, l’INRA et Montpellier SupAgro. Géno-Vigne® a pour objectifs d’optimiser la gestion, la conservation, la caractérisation et la valorisation des ressources génétiques vigne au profit de la filière viti-vinicole. Les collections de l’INRA au Domaine de Vassal et de l’IFV au Domaine de l’Espiguette constituent un support unique au monde pour ses différents travaux de recherche et développement parmi lesquels figurent la formation et la communication.

Partenaires de la sélection

Partenaires de la sélection

Ce sont les acteurs régionaux de la sélection. Constitués de chambres d’agriculture, d’interprofessions, d’associations ou de Sicarex, ils sont au nombre de 33, répartis dans tous les bassins viticoles et sont impliqués étroitement dans les actions de sélection clonale, de conservation de la diversité inter ou intra variétale. Ils jouent un rôle essentiel dans le maintien et la valorisation de notre patrimoine viticole. Grâce à leur collaboration, la sauvegarde des variétés les plus rares est préservée.

Projet Plantnet

Projet Pl@ntNet

Pl@ntNet est une initiative portée par trois équipes aux compétences complémentaires : l'UMR Amap, l'Equipe-projet Imedia de l'INRIA Rocquencourt, et l'Association Tela Botanica, ainsi qu’un large partenariat incluant des organisations internationales. Il a pour objectifs de (i) développer des recherches à la frontière entre systématique intégrative et informatique, (ii) promouvoir l'utilisation de réservoirs de données sous-exploités sur les plantes, (iii) promouvoir la science citoyenne comme un moyen puissant d'enrichir les informations sur la distribution géographique, l'écologie et les usages des plantes.

Agropolis Fondation

Agropolis Fondation

Agropolis Fondation a été fondée en 2007. Elle a pour objet de soutenir et de promouvoir le développement de projets de niveau international (programmes de recherche et de formation par la recherche) dans le domaine de l'agronomie et du développement durable, en s'intéressant aux problématiques du Nord comme du Sud. Elle soutient des projets de recherche, des postes et séjours de scientifiques doctorants, pré- et post-doctorants ou chercheurs confirmés (junior ou senior).